Application for MRCOG Part 1 can be processed in two stages

1.Eligibility Application Submission and approval by RCOG

2.Booking your Application online

For full details about applying for eligibility, see How to book the Part 1 MRCOG exam.

Resit candidates are already eligible and can proceed directly to booking.

Once your eligibility form is approved, RCOG will officially notify you through email. After confirmation you can book your exams and all the payments are done through online using net banking or card payments.

• An original or an attested photocopy of your primary medical degree certificate
• An original or an attested photocopy of your medical registration certificate, provided it states your primary medical degree and university

To correctly attest the copy of your primary medical degree/medical registration certificate:
1. Photocopy your original degree/medical registration certificate
2. Take the photocopy and the original certificate to one of the following acceptable signatories:
• A Fellow or Member of the RCOG (he or she must quote their College registration number with the signature)
• The British Embassy, the British High Commission or the British Council
• Your own Embassy (if you are overseas at the time of application)
• The University or hospital that issued the certificate
• A solicitor or public notary
3. Ask the signatory to sign/stamp the photocopy to confirm that it is a true copy of the original document. The signature/stamp must be clearly legible and in English. RCOG Fellows and Members must include their College registration number.
4. Upload the signed/stamped photocopy, with the signature/stamp in ink, in the application form to the address given below. Please note: photocopied signatures/stamps are not valid and will not be accepted.

Don’t worry, what you need to do is to submit an authorized translation of your degree certificate or medical registration certificate.

No. Resit candidates are already eligible to book the exam. We need to see your degree certificate or attested copy-once only.

Your entrance ticket will be emailed to you approximately 4 weeks before your exam. You will need to print out your entrance ticket and bring it with you to the exam, together with photographic identification.

At present all the exams are being performed online in Pearson VUE centers. If any changes, The College cannot advise you on this matter. Please contact the relevant consulate for information about any visa requirements before applying for the exam. If you need a letter from the Examination Department confirming your attendance at the exam, please inform us when applying for the exam, and ensure that you apply in good time.

The regulations state that candidates who withdraw their application for a particular exam after the closing date, or who fail to appear, shall forfeit the exam fee. This means the College can’t refund your entry fee after an exam’s closing date and your candidature for the exam will remain. If you fail to attend the exam, your entry will not be counted as an attempt.
In certain prescribed circumstances, the College does consider refunding the entry fee. If you wish to apply for this, please do so in writing (hard copy, not email or fax) to the Part 1 MRCOG Secretary at the RCOG, enclosing documentary evidence to support your circumstances. Applications for refunds must be submitted within 1 month of the exam.

The exemption scheme closed in 2006. The Part 1 syllabus and examination structure has changed markedly since then and the content is now mapped, alongside the Part 2 and Part 3 examinations, according to a ‘blueprint’ of the UK curriculum.

Candidates intending to be entered on to the UK Specialist Register, now or in the future, are permitted no more than 6 attempts at the Part 1 MRCOG. There is no limit on attempts for candidates not in wishing to enter the UK Specialist Register. Candidates wishing to apply for the Part 1 MRCOG who have failed on 6 or more previous occasions need to provide supporting documentation from their Head of School outlining the exceptional reasons for permitting a further attempt at the exam.
For more information, read the regulations on exam currency and number of attempts.

No, but the College does require you to have attempted the Part 2 at least once within 7 years of passing the Part 1. You do not have to pass the Part 2 within 7 years, but if you do not even attempt it you will have to pass the Part 1 again. For more information, read the regulations on exam currency and number of attempts.

No. As the MRCOG is a three-part exam, certificates are only issued on completion of Part 3. Please retain your Part 1 pass letter as this is the only certification you’ll receive.

RCOG doesn’t allow to use ‘Part 1 MRCOG’ on letterheads, business cards, nameplates etc.