Understanding the Difference between the 3-Part Assessment of MRCOG Exam

The Royal College of obstetrics and gynaecology specialises in training and professional development of people who strive to make a career in O&G. The RCOG group currently have thousands of members working towards improvement of women health worldwide.

Your ticket to the world class education

The MRCOG exam is globally accepted as well as respected worldwide. Clearing the MRCOG exam certifies that you have been a part of a gold standard qualification to make a progressive career in OBGYN. It is a three part exam and one must clear every level of 3 part assessment to certify in O&G. The first exam was held in 1939 and since then, there are thousands of professionals who are working towards improvement of women health.

The three part assessment

  • MRCOG Part 1 – the first level of MRCOG consists of a written exam that is taken to evaluate the basic knowledge and clinical skills that requires being in this profession
  • MRCOG Part 2 – the second part is again a written exam that is taken to assess the application of knowledge in the subject.
  • MRCOG Part 3 – In the last and final segment of the exam is a continuation of assessment applied skills as defined in Part 2 of the MRCOG curriculum. The idea of this assessment is assessing the candidate on five core skills:-
    • Patient safety
    • Communicating with patients and families
    • Communicating with colleagues
    • Information gathering
    • Applied clinical knowledge

Under Part 3, the candidate is assessed and validated for entry in UK Specialist OBGYN program and work as a consultant in O&G.

It is only after a student is able to clear all the levels of assessment, a membership is awarded. Therefore, in order to become a member of their prestigious member organization, a candidate needs to clear a three part assessment